P. Buckley Moss Society

P.BuckleyMoss.com  |  MossFoundation.org  |  Help    


HomeAbout UsNewsMembershipSociety ShopChaptersCharity WorksScholarship and Awards  
Scholarships & Awards Overview
Judith Cary Scholarship
P. Buckley Moss Endowed Scholarship
Presidents' Award
Presidents' Award

Past Presidents'
Award Recipients

Marie Y. Nales 2003

Deb Weisgerber 2004

Holly Kirkpatrick 2005

Floyd Boothe 2006

Sarah Baird 2007

Not Awarded in 2008

In keeping with the goals of P. Buckley Moss, who struggled with learning difficulties throughout her school years, this grant rewards a person who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of children.

The past five presidents of the Society provided distinguished service through their leadership of the organization, not only as president but also through service in other offices and positions.

Robert P. Lewis served as president from 1990 to 1994, Noreen Newman Johnson from 1994 to 1998, Rev. Harold A. Henning from 1998 to 2002, Arthur L. Smith from 2002 to 2006, and Mary Lou McMillin from 2007-2010. All exemplified the ideals espoused by Pat. This award recognizes and honors their significant and generous contributions of time and effort to the Society during their tenure in office.

Nominations for the Presidentsí† Award can be made only by members of the P. Buckley Moss Society.


  • $1,000 award to a Society member who has made a significant contribution to the well-being and education of children.
  • Application and supporting materials must be postmarked no later than August 1.


  • This award is intended for a teacher, a counselor, an educator, a mentor, a volunteer ó anyone who has made a significant contribution to improving the lot of children during the preceding year. If in a formal education situation, the circumstances should be above and beyond what is normally expected of a paid professional.
  • Any person may apply for this award, or nominate someone else. The nominator could be a family member, a friend, a neighbor, even oneís self.
  • Either the nominee or the nominator should provide a narrative which details why the nominee is worthy of this award. This should include a description of the situation in which the nominee works with children plus a discussion of ways the children have benefited from this personís involvement.
  • A supporting narrative detailing the same topics must be submitted from someone in a knowledgeable position, such as a supervisor, principal, etc.

NOTE: The judges will be basing much of their decision on how specific and complete the responses are.




Copyright ©1987-2017 P. Buckley Moss Society. All Rights Reserved.
All images Copyright © P. Buckley Moss